The Life Plan

It’s Sunday evening, and the end to a pretty hectic week – a week that has seen “Sarah’s Life Plan” really start moving!

It kicked off at 9.30 on Monday morning with a job interview (finally!) for a marketing internship in Sutton Coldfield. It sounds absolutely ideal and would be a great foundation for a marketing career, so my fingers are crossed but I’m trying not to be too hopeful! The interview went fine (well at least I think it did – how much can you really tell?) although I was nearly late for it which was a bit of a nightmare.

Monday evening was the open evening for the Marketing qualification course I’ve decided to do – although I’ve got great work experience since leaving university, the fact that I’m applying for marketing jobs with a psychology degree puts me at a disadvantage to other candidates with a relevant qualification, so I’m going to do something about it! It starts on Tuesday and I’m excited to gain some theoretical Marketing knowledge and it will definitely help the Life Plan.

Tuesday I spent the entire day at the yard helping out my friends who work there, as one of them was off and it’s a big job for just one person. I even got a blister from the amount of mucking out I did! Slightly embarrassed about that as they do it every single day and you don’t see them getting blisters. Lovely to spend some extra time around the horses anyway, and was left in charge of a vet’s visit to a horse with teeth issues and possible stomach ulcers – very interesting. Also starting to build up Bailey’s weight after his colic, and begin exercising him at a more intense level to help him get back to normal. He’s coughing a lot at the moment though, so it’s going to be a slow process. Bailey’s got his own Life Plan going on!

Then Tuesday evening I went to a BHS (British Horse Society, not British Home Stores!) meeting to investigate the possible chance of becoming a volunteer press officer – basically using the media to publicise the work of the BHS in the West Midlands. Sounds really interesting and also would be great to get some voluntary work on my CV in the marketing and communications area – a definite step forward for the Life Plan!

Wednesday was just one of those days. I went in to work for a meeting with someone who was two and a half hours late, had some real PowerPoint issues with a presentation I’m working on, couldn’t get Bailey to walk two steps without coughing his lungs out and had some bad news about the Marketing course. But it ended well, me and Johnny went to see a band we love play live (Foals – look them up!) which helped cheer me up.

Then Thursday and Friday were slightly less hectic, just helping Johnny do his maths Uni work and hanging out at the yard with Bailey. Not great days for the Life Plan but nice to have a bit of a break I suppose!

Then the weekend – went to the dog show Crufts on Saturday with Johnny, met some amazing little dogs and saw lots of my favourite English Springer Spaniels. Really want to get one now, but I’ll have to wait until I move out and get my own place! Can’t wait though.

Mother’s Day today, spent some time with my mum having a meal in a little pub in Warwickshire, a lovely end to the week. Looking forward to seeing how the Life Plan develops this week – should start with hearing about the results of the job interview! Eek!

Anyway here are some photos of the lovely dogs I met at Crufts – a Clumber Spaniel, Setter and a Springer Spaniel. All gorgeous Gundogs, my personal favourites.

20130310-231949.jpg

20130310-232014.jpg

20130310-232032.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Life Plan

  1. Congrats on your interview – fingers crossed! Also about your psychology / marketing role – i’m in similar position with an English degree – many interviewers have said they’d rather not have a “marketing” aka textbook person working for them – as long as you show creativity that’s marketing!

    Also – the BHS Volunteer thing – i’d love to do something like that – can you say anymore about what it is you’ll be doing / how to get in volved? I’m in the SouthWest – Cornwall…

    • Thankyou! They’ve actually just shortlisted me for a second interview so that’s great, although I have to give a 10 minute presentation on a subject of my choice bleurgh. Yeah that makes sense, I always try and make my degree seem as relevant to marketing as I can i.e. being able to see something from the consumer’s point of view, but a lot of jobs I look at state on the job spec that candidates must be educated to degree level in a marketing discipline. How are you getting on with your job search?

      Well this is the link to the BHS volunteering vacancy page – http://www.bhs.org.uk/get-involved/volunteer/opportunities – and the role of a Press Officer is promoting the work of the BHS to the local media and trying to get them more coverage in magazines and newspapers. So you have to write a lot of press releases on any activities, developments or issues the BHS is having and then circulate them to the media, and develop relationships with the local press. It sounds interesting but I can imagine it will be quite difficult at first when you don’t have any media contacts! Do you think that sounds like something you’d like to do?

  2. Woohoo well done again! 10 minute presentation should be fine, bring bits and pieces in to let them play with – for my last role I did mine on Poland and brought Polish food in for them – went down a treat and was offered the job! My job search… going ok – Cornwall has very limited opportunities but i’ve applications out and getting feedback slowly… Hometown’s near Manchester so I bet there’s a million more jobs up there!

    Amazing news on the press officer sounds like something i’d enjoy – will have to check the SW opportunities out. I’ve great experience with that – ran my own newspaper for 3 years so would love to get back into that type of role especially around horses! If any developments come of it i’ll be sure to blog!

    Good luck in your 2nd itnerview 🙂

Leave a Reply

